Urban Initiatives

2017-12-05T13:56:18+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: The agency provides children in grades K-4 with the chance to belong to a soccer team, regardless of skill level. TheWork to Play program has games every Friday during the season. Volunteers needed to help with game days.

Location: Chicago

Contact: Staff: Kaitlyn Klapperich at kaitlyn.klapperich@urbaninitiatives.org

The Night Ministry

2017-11-17T11:52:37+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: Onetime needs: https://www.myregistry.com/public/thenightministry Other needs: White or black adult socks, new adult underwear, single ride Ventra passes, $5 and $10 gift cards (McDonalds, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks), $15 – $30 gift cards (Jewel, Marianos, Walgreens, CVS, Target).

Location: Chicago-Ravenswood

Contact: Liaison: Julie Danilek, jdanilek@gmail.com, 847-913-7830 Robin Roberts, robin@catingo.com

Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

2017-11-17T10:17:09+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: Volunteers needed to conduct drives for or to donate books and diapers.

Location: Evanston

Contact: Staff: Mary Burke-Peterson, maryburkepeterson@iwse.org 847-491-9650 or Pamela Staples, pamelastaples@iwse.org 847-491-9650

Family Matters

2017-11-15T15:16:29+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: Volunteers needed for occasional projects helping keep spaces fresh and new.

Location: Chicago-Rogers Park

Contact: Staff: Devon Lovell, Academic Dir. devon@familymatterschicago.org 773-465-6011, ext. 115

Christopher House

2017-11-14T12:04:54+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: Provide in-kind donations or organize drives for: diapers (4, 5, & 6), pull-ups, baby wipes, and Enfamil formula.

Location: Chicago-Logan Square (3255 W. Altgeld) or Stewart Campus (5235 W. Belden)

Contact: Staff: Matt Stokes, mstokes@christopherhouse.org 773-922-7544

Breakthrough Urban Ministries

2017-11-13T12:50:01+00:00

Service Opportunity Details: Support the agency’s annual Christmas Store by volunteering and hosting a gift drive. Details: breakthrough.org/ChristmasStore

Location: Chicago-East Garfield Park

Frequency Details: Christmas time

Contact: Staff: Ann Healing, ahealing@breakthrough.org 773-346-1773

 

Association House of Chicago

2017-11-13T12:50:01+00:00

Opportunity Details: Volunteers needed to help with holiday toy drive: acquiring donations, wrapping gifts, facilitating holiday parties

Location: Chicago-Humboldt Park

Frequency : One-time, Periodic

Frequency Details: Toy donations early Nov., gift wrapping in early Dec., Holiday Parties in mid-Dec. Thurs. or Fri. 5:30 to 8 p.m.

Contact: Staff:  Jamie Garcia, Human Resources Director, jgarcia@associationhouse.org or 773-772-8137

Adaptive Adventures

2017-11-13T12:50:02+00:00

Opportunity Details: Volunteers needed to help with event organization: register and help participants.  If wanted, volunteers can train to assist participants in specific programs such as biking, skiing, rock climbing.

Location: Chicago Metro Area

Frequency: One-time, On-going, Periodic

Frequency Details: Several events and programs throughout the year

Contact: Liaison: Melanie Earle, melanieearle@gmail.com, 312-315-1810    Lisa Metzger-Mugg, lmetzgermugg@gmail.com, 773-209-5952                                                                 Staff: Greg Zbrzezny, Program Director, Zbrzezny@adaptiveadventures.org, 847-533-2060